Thursday, September 12, 2019


We all know moving house is stressful but it's now 3am and I have been entirely unable to sleep. The alarm is set for 5, when I plan to drive to Parkville with a carload of books and paintings etc to clear out the house enough for the removalists to come at 11 to get the big things, as they're known. I mean I will be able to come back, I guess, and sleep for a couple of hours but it would have been better if I'd been allowed by my 'overactive' (read: churning) brain to just sleep when necessary.

The dumb thing is I really can't stand sleeping and I don't have much sympathy for people who love it. So I am extra annoyed by the necessity of it. Jetlag's coming, too. 

NB still haven't got my replacement phone, though very glad btw that I got insurance

Tuesday, September 10, 2019

great time to be leaving albion


Hilariously, I am now liberated from my phone and it is as though I have been in a daze all this time. It's been about 30 hours since I last saw it and when I was out tonight at Open Studio (Alanna and band played their/our first show) I felt myself able to do all kinds of crazy new things like, for instance, look straight ahead for periods of time or have minor conversations and not feel I had to look occupied all the time. It's mental. Of course I was also very judgey when it came to all the people I saw around me, looking at their phones.

Monday, September 09, 2019

tangled hitchcockian web

Sometime yesterday evening between about 7pm and 10pm, I misplaced or lost (what's the difference) my phone, or, it was stolen, who knows. I only know I messaged Alanna at 6:55 to say I was about to arrive to take her to rehearsal, and then at rehearsal I was like 'where's my phone? it must be in my coat pocket' when I finally checked it wasn't and I was like 'it must be in the car' and if it is, I can't find it. Really odd, and I just don't know if it's been stolen (?!) or fell out of the car (is that even possible?), either way, Find My iPhone says it's offline now, which I suppose means all kinds of things. Surely it's in the car.

But this is where the fragility of my/one's daily life and identity comes into play. Because I want to be able to blog, I check my gmail on my phone, and leave the old email up on my laptop (this is confusing to read/explain, don't worry about it) and so when I wanted to check my gmail on my laptop I couldn't remember the password, because I keep passwords like that on my phone, and now my request to be allowed to view my gmail is under review by, I don't know, google. I am falling through the abyss like the beginning of Mad Men crossed with some scene I'm probably misremembering from The Matrix. 

It'll all sort out and I'll be back in the flimsy fabric of whatever we currently think of as reality, schmucks that we are.

Saturday, September 07, 2019

painting i did

I finally finished this painting yesterday. All I did to finish it (it had been sitting around for six months incomplete) was the black outline, and it really worked well in my opinion. I mean insofar as it looks a bit like a children's book illustration from the early 1970s, which I guess is my wellspring.

Friday, September 06, 2019

unpickupable, that's what you are

I've got a cold and I feel poorly - particularly tough cough and tough because it just seems unfair after getting through the flu or something only a few weeks ago! Screw this.
So, today I'm on leave anyway, and I hung around the house mainly and spent quite a bit of time with these guys (that's Pompey on the left and Chanticleer on the right). I continue to marvel about how cuddly they have become from the angst-ridden wormy desperadoes of a few months ago. Pompey in particular is still pretty flighty and neither of them really like being picked up (but then, neither does Nancy. Maybe no cats really like it). But they are very happy cats now.
The unhappy one is Nancy who is cranky at them but maybe she'll come round.
I have wasted today basically, except I did take Barry and Ferdie for a walk but Ferdie blotted his copybook, LITERALLY by running away from me and disappearing completely. I found him in the street about five minutes later apparently eating a piece of bread.