This picture stolen from https://historyofaussiemusic.blogspot.com/2013/09/the-numbers.html but I am pretty sure that this 'history of aussie music' site quotes extensively from an article I wrote for Mess+Noise without crediting me and even if it wasn't me that wrote it, whoever wrote it isn't credited...
I've been listening to the Numbers CD Numerology in the car. It's a 2008 compilation released on Aztec which brings together most of the two Numbers albums, The Numbers and 39-51, alongside an EP that predates them.
I could be wrong - this never occurred to me before and I don't know why it has now - but the first album now seems to me to be skeletal and undercooked, and the second album is a lot more polished and worthy. But in both cases it strikes me the band was let down by production - I normally never say things like that - and hung out to dry. It's weird because they had decent producers (Cameron Allan for the first, Graham Bidstrup for the second).
They had two big hits in 1980, nowhere near as big as, you know, Dire Straits but their biggest hits. 'The Modern Song' is, by standards now and I suspect then, bizarrely stark. Annaliese's vocal is way back in the mix, the whole thing seems muffled and weird. 'The Modern Song', their other hit, is a little more conventional in sound, a mid-tempo pop number, with some catchily strange lyrics. But personally if I'd been the producer (I was 15 and very cluey) I would have put more instrumentation on there to bring out the best of the tunes, and I would have sent Chris Morrow to Byron* for a week to work out some endings for these songs and also some middle 8s or similar - just something to make them more punchy and memorable. They already are punchy and memorable, and Simon Vidale's drums are massive both in volume and impact, but the spare nature of these recordings just makes them seem threadbare rather than vital. Worst offender actually is 'Mr President', which was my favourite of their singles in this early phase - such a great record, but half the record it could be, mainly because its chorus is unvaried and the whole thing, once again, doesn't end with any aplomb. It needed aplomb.
The singles off the second album are way better. 'Big Beat' is probably my favourite, though 'Jericho' is brilliant too. 'Alone' is once again let down, IMO, by the production. Both these albums really sound like someone got the band into the studio to bash out their live set, and as a live set, you get all the tricks - they're such memorable tunes and the lyrics are often calculated to make you go 'huh?'
I have heard some tracks of The Numbers in a later incarnation when they were joined by John Bliss and Colin (Polly) Newham formerly of The Reels. Now, that was an amazing version of the group, and I only wish they had recorded properly because it was incredible.
I'm aware it's lame as to criticise something 45 years later like it's anyone's fault. I don't even know why I bothered starting writing this. I just really like them. If they'd signed to Mushroom or something like that, it all might have been very different. Look, I probably just don't get it.
Anyway TIL there was a British release by The Numbers which seems to be a blend of the first two albums. I'm almost tempted to buy a copy and listen to it just to see if anything is different in the sound or perhaps even recording - ? I'm like that.
*Or Bulgaria, just away somewhere to consider what could add to these great songs.